Secret Society by Tom Dolby

Secret Society by Tom Dolby

Secret Society by Tom Dolby

Title: Secret Society
Author: Tom Dolby
Published: 2009
Summary:  Prep school students are chosen to join a secret society (aptly named “The Society”); one of their friends didn’t get the invite so he decides to infiltrate the society. What follows is a tale of not-knowing what will come next for you and self-discovery.

I hope what I’m reading about this book being the first in a series is correct. I was first intrigued by this book when I read about it on TeenReads.com (love that site; I suggest you check it out!), so I was quite excited when I finally found it at my mother’s library (yey for being the daughter of a library technician). I immediately picked it up because I wasn’t even aware it had been published yet!

Anyway, enough gushing; I need to tell you about this book, right? 😀 First thing I notice upon opening to the actual story (and skipping copyright and title pages) was the nice typeset. I didn’t have to put on my glasses to read this book since the font was larger than most novels I read.

I wasn’t sure how I was going to like the novel because even though I have not read the Gossip Girl (and related) novels, the beginning of this book reminded me of what I know of them. Prep school students, clubbing, name-dropping brands, etc. Then The Society plotline kicks in and I am intrigued. Here is where I must admit that I was almost jealous of the characters recruited in the organization. I would love to have that much success so quickly.

Ahem; back to the novel. After the initiation things happen so fast for the characters of the novel that they all don’t know what to do. As things happen and they learn more, their character is called into question and they are required to define themselves and their position in life.

I liked the moral dilemma posed to the characters and how Dolby handled this with his writing style. I look forward to reading more about these characters, especially because I feel the ending was a cliffhanger.

Leave a Reply

