Alive in Necropolis by Doug Dorst

by Doug Dorst

Title: Alive in Necropolis
Author: Doug Dorst
Published: 2009
Summary: Colma, CA, is a necropolis; home to the dead, who outnumber the living. This is the story of a police officer of Colma (a living being, of course), who becomes obsessed with a coworker’s death and the circumstances surrounding it.

I seem to have this amazing luck at finding debut novels. This novel was fun, but at times I felt like I was wading through it. I was getting lost at certain points, but still had fun reading it. This wasn’t a typical zombie story, though I don’t know if the author intended for it to be a zombie story at all. It’s more of a ghost story.

I was really disappointed with the ending. I felt like there was no resolution and I wanted to know more about Jude. I want to hear his thoughts, however slow and challenged they may be. I wanted to know more about Reyna and how she felt, even though it’s pretty clear she didn’t care about Jude because she just left him to die but one never truly knows unless the author tells us.

And now I would like to treat you to some of my favourite quotes from the novel:

“‘My theory about like is this: that you’re only as old as the woman you’re sticking it to.'” (Alive in Necropolis, pg. 26)

“…because you’ve tried to fit in and instead proved yourself to be the freak they suspect you are.” (Alive in Necropolis, pg. 28)

“‘The only thing that ever feels viable is staying where you are.'” (Alive in Necropolis, pgs. 29-30)

“‘Shut up and die like an aviator, Boy Thirteen.'” (Alive in Necropolis, page 188.)

Leave a Reply

