Sea Change by Aimee Friedman

by Aimee Friedman

Title: Sea Change
Author: Aimee Friedman
Published: 2009
Summary: Miranda visits her family’s ancestral home on Selkie Island, but doesn’t know much about her grandmother or even her mother’s past. Is the boy she meets on the island the key to unlocking this knowledge?

I found out about this book on TeenReads.com; their article made it seem really interesting. Once I actually started reading, I wasn’t as into the book as I thought I would be. The story was simple and the writing was nice, but I just found myself getting bored at certain points.

I wanted to smack all the Southern Belle types in the book; for some reason, those characters always seem to annoy me, no matter the story. I am glad that the main character learned about herself and her family though. That was something that I was glad to read, even though I don’t think that story line is fully resolved.

I did like reading a story about merpeople, though. I’ve never read one of those before; if you have some favourites, please recommend them to me!

I don’t know if I could recommend this book or feel like reading more from this author. If you’re a fan, recommend me one of her books and tell me why it’s better than this one.

Leave a Reply

