50BC #9 – Push by Sapphire

Title: Push
Author: Sapphire
Published: 1996
Summary: The heart-breaking story of Precious Jones, a victim of incest and abuse, who must overcome her past to change her future.

This book broke my heart. I was captivated from page one and didn’t put the novel down until I was done. I will admit to basing my first impressions on it by the trails for the film, but I was even more blown away by the story once I started reading.

I don’t know if I could ever be in Precious’s place; to be so powerless and still find the strength to go on. She is such an amazing character. I definitely recommend this book to everyone. My one caution is that if you’ve never read anything but Standard English, you may have trouble getting through the writing of this novel.

The novel is written from the point-of-view of Precious and at the very beginning of the story, she is illiterate. If that doesn’t sound like a challenge for you, please read. If it does, I’ve heard the audiobook is quite fabulous.

One thought on “50BC #9 – Push by Sapphire

  1. Leah says:

    I’ve always wanted to read this book.
    Might save up and buy the audiobook ^^

Leave a Reply

