50BC #34 – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson

Title: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Author: Steig Larsson
Series: Millennium Trilogy
Published: 2005
English Translation: 2008
Summary:  A girl vanished years ago and Mikael Blomkvist has been hired to piece together the puzzle that will hopefully inform everyone of her fate.

This book (and the rest of the series) was recommended to me by what felt like a mob of people, so I couldn’t help but give it a read. For the first 256 pages, I was not really impressed. The story felt quite disjointed and I kept trying to put things together; when it was finally revealed that Salander and Blomkvist would be working together (page 257), I finally found myself getting really interested in the book and finished the next 208 pages in just less than 4 hours.

I don’t know why I felt things were so disconnected before that magical page, but I’m extremely glad that I actually finished the book. There were quite a few times where I wanted to give up, but I didn’t want to let any of my friends who’d recommended this to me down. (And I wanted to be able to answer patron questions about it since these novels are really popular.)

I am glad that it will be awhile before I get book two, though. I need a break from these books for a bit. (I wish someone had warned me about the triggeringly descriptive posts about rape and the whole plot about Martin and Gottfried Vanger. Kept having to take breaks during those parts. All that was told to me was that a journalist was hired to find a girl who had been missing for quite sometime.) Though, once I’ve posted this, I’m going to watch the movie through Netflix on Wii because I really want to see it.

Leave a Reply

