50BC #39 – The Girl Who Played With Fire by Steig Larsson

Title: The Girl Who Played With Fire
Author: Steig Larsson
Series: The Millennium Trilogy
Published: 2006 (English Translation: 2009)
Summary: Lisbeth Salander finds herself very much involved in a murder after travelling abroad for a year. Mikael Blomkvist finds himself in an uphill battle to prove her innocence.

I really disliked most of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, so I wasn’t expecting to love this book as much as I did. It alone completely changed my opinion of Steig Larsson as a storyteller. (I can’t really comment on him as a writer, since I’m reading this in English as translated by someone that wasn’t Larsson.) The ending killed me. I really want to read The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest as soon as possible, but I also really want to take time and digest this novel as a whole.

My favourite part of this novel was that it was practically Salander-centric. She’s the reason why I’m reading these books, so it was really great to learn a lot more about her. The ending of the novel killed me on the inside and broke my heart. I really, really hope that what I think is going to happen doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

