50BC #40 – Blameless by Gail Carriger

Title: Blameless
Author: Gail Carriger
Series: The Parasol Protectorate
Published: 2010
Summary: After being denied by her husband and deemed and unfaithful wife, Alexia goes to Italy with Madame Lefoux and Floote after making stops in France and Germany. In Italy, Alexia finds herself a prisoner of The Templars merely for her status as a preternatural.

This book had a lot more emphasis on Alexia and her story; I really enjoyed that. I also continued to enjoy the dynamics of the relationship between Alexia and Genevieve. Getting to see Floote in a more prominent role was also a treat. (I’m going to have to read the deleted scenes Miss Carriger has posted to her website now that I’ve finished Blameless. Cannot wait to read them.)

I’m still just a bit choked up over Biffy, though. The scene between him and Lord Akeldama tugged at my heartstrings and had me crying over my morning tea. I am glad that Biffy is alive (he’s one of my favourite characters), but I feel for Lord Akeldama. I may just have to ask Miss Carriger if there is any hope for those two staying together after the events of Blameless.

Summer of next year feels like a forever away. I’m really glad that this wasn’t the last book in the series and cannot wait to read Alexia’s next adventures and the progression of the “soul-stealer” dilemma.

Leave a Reply

