50BC #42 – The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Steig Larsson

Title: The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest
Author: Steig Larsson
Series: The Millennium Trilogy
Published:  2009
Summary: Lisbeth Salander is in critical condition after being shot in the head. She will also have to face trial for the attempted murder of Alexander Zalachenko, her father.

This was the final book of the Millennium Trilogy and I’m sad to say that I’m really, really glad that I am done with the books of this series. Hornet’s Nest was the weakest of the three and while I loved that Salander got as much of a happy ending as the reader could expect, I felt really disappointed by it all.

I didn’t want Salander and her team to fail, but it felt like everything came together too nicely. And once again, I wasn’t truly enjoying the novel until over 200 pages in. Normally, I don’t give books that much of a chance but this series is really popular where I work and I want to be able to tell patrons more about it than, “Oh, I’ve heard that’s popular but I haven’t read it yet.”

My only other comment is that I want to read the book that Blomkvist put out about the Svensson murders. If only it were real.

Leave a Reply

