50BC #44 – The Awakening by L.J. Smith

Title: The Awakening
Author: L.J. Smith
Series: The Vampire Diaries
Published: 1991
Summary: Elena is the queen bee at her high school and her power is shaken up when the mysterious Stefan Salvatore comes to town. He brings with him more than an international flair, as Elena finds out.
Note: I read this book in the version that compiles both The Awakening and The Struggle, which was published in 2007; because of that, my reviews for The Awakening and The Struggle will have the same cover.

I’m a really big fan of the television show, so I thought I should at least read one of the books from the series. I really don’t think I’d continue with these books if the second novel in the series wasn’t in the same volume as the first.

The books weren’t horrible, but they weren’t remarkable either. I found most of the characters unlikeable and definitely unmarketable. If the television show had stayed closer to the books, the show would not be as popular as it is.

I did find a few quotes I want to use on my inspiration blog, though. That’s a plus side to this negative review.

One thought on “50BC #44 – The Awakening by L.J. Smith

  1. […] both The Awakening and The Struggle, which was published in 2007; because of that, my reviews for The Awakening and The Struggle will have the same […]

Leave a Reply

