Almost Perfect by Brian Katcher

Title: Almost Perfect
Author: Brian Katcher
Published: 2009
Summary: Logan Whitherspoon recently discovered that his girlfriend of three years cheated on him. Since then–much to his friends’ dismay–he has been despressed, pessimistic, and obessed with this ex, Brenda. But things start to look up for Logan when a new student breezes through the halls of his small-town high school. Tall, unconventionally pretty, and a bit awkward, Sage Hendricks somehow appeals to Logan even at a time when he trusts no one. As Logan learns more about Sage, he realizes that she needs a friend as much as he does, if not more. She has been homeschooled for several years, and her parents have forbidden her to date, but she won’t tell Logan why. The mystery of Sage’s past and the oddities of her personality intrigue Logan, and one day, he acts on his growing attraction and kisses her. Moments later, however, he wishes he hadn’t. Sage finally discloses her big secret: she’s actually a boy. (from the author’s website)

I picked this up on a whim from work and I really was frustrated for at least seventy-percent of the book. I knew what the author was getting at, but the message was so clouded in transphobia that I really didn’t “get it” until the author’s note after the conclusion of the story.

I don’t want to say that I hated the book, because I didn’t; but I also cannot say that I will be recommending it to everyone I know.

One thought on “Almost Perfect by Brian Katcher

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by She Loves Books, She Loves Books. She Loves Books said: Almost Perfect by Brian Katcher http://wp.me/pH84O-eJ […]

Leave a Reply

