An Almost-Binge on Manga

I’ve been reading a lot of manga lately (among other graphic novels), so here’s a small run-down of what I’ve been up to. I may edit pictures in later, but I haven’t decided.

Higurashi When They Cry: Eye-Opening Arc
Volume One
So glad to finally get to this arc. I absolutely adore this series, even though this is leaving me with more questions than answers. Cannot wait to get the rest of the arc.

Fairy Idol Kanon
Volume One
An adorable series that set my cosplay senses on fire!

Volume Two
Still super cute; sad that the series is only four volumes, but this volume introduces Sharp and she’s definitely my cosplay goal for this series.

Volume Three
The series feels like it goes by so fast, even though some of the gags repeat quite a lot.

Volume Four
Yey for the happy ending! (I love manga that ends on a high note.)

7 Billion Needles
Volume One
I picked this up from work because I was intrigued by the cover art. It was slow, but picked up at the end. I don’t dislike it, but I don’t love it either; continuing it because the series is only four volumes long.

Pokemon Ranger & The Temple of the Sea
YEY POKEMON MANGA! I haven’t actually seen this movie yet, so the story was new to me.

Tactics
Volume One
Gave up on this because the story just dragged and I didn’t like the art.

Fairy Cube
Volume One
Kaori Yuki is one of my favourite manga-ka, so it just made sense for me to pick up this series. I’ll be continuing to read it because the story picked up near the end of the volume and I love faeries.

Swans in Space
Volume One
Science-fiction manga aimed at girls that activated my cosplay senses.

The Big Adventures of Majoko
Volume One
I don’t know why, but I’ve been reading a lot of manga aimed at kids lately. This series is cute and cosplayable, but I’m glad it is a short series.

Volume Two
Still cute, but really pissed me off with its narrow view of what constitutes manliness.

Volume Three
The gags are worn out by this volume and I’m taking a break from the series for awhile.

Kingyo Used Books
Volume One
This manga was really inspiring and it was just something I picked up at work for no specific reason. I’m really glad I picked it up and I’ll be continuing to read the series! I also appreciated all the notes in the margins about series mentioned in the volume; I learned things.

Itazura Na Kiss
Volume One
I remember trying to watch the anime as it was airing in Japan a few years ago and finding myself really frustrated with the story. In manga form, it’s still not my favourite but I’m less frustrated. (I’m currently watching the Korean drama of the series, Playful Kiss.)

V.B. Rose
Volume One
A manga about bridal fashion? Count me in, okay.

 

Leave a Reply

