A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee

A Spy in the House (The Agency, #1)A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Title: A Spy in the House
Author: Y.S. Lee
Series: The Agency
Published: 2009
Summary: Victorian Girl Spies!

I came across this book by chance; it and the second book in the series were returned to my work through the book drop and I just so happened to be checking things in when they did. I’m a fan of Victorian-era England already, so it wasn’t a stretch that I would at least look at the flap on the inside of the front cover. What really got me was that even the author herself describes the book as simply, “Victorian girl spies!”. From that moment on, I knew I had to read the series and that I would be severely disappointed if I didn’t like it.

Thankfully, I adored this first novel and I cannot wait to finish the second! Also, admittedly, I was somewhat hoping for a relationship of sorts between Mary Quinn and James Easton; they reminded me somewhat of Alexia Tarabotti (Lady Maccon) and Connall Maccon from Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate series. (I even tweeted while reading the first book saying that I would love for Lee and Carriger to write something together and I stand by that! I would read it over and over again!)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

